Buju Banton – Mr Mention

Buju Banton - Mr Mention
Terrible album cover for Buju’s 1992 debut album. For someone who would ultimately get swamped in controversy over homophobic lyrics in his early years, it’s hard to imagine a more gay album cover than this. It makes the Village People look like red-blooded hetros.

Anyway, 1992 was a huge year for Buju and he dominated the Jamaican airwaves, it’s hard to think of a bigger hit that year than ‘Batty Rider’. In fact ‘Batty Rider’ can still start a fire in a dancehall today.

The album is full of some of the biggest dancehall hits of the time and should be in any serious collection.

Track Listing:
01 Batty Rider
02 Love How The Gal Dem Flex
03 Love Black Woman
04 Look How You Sweet
05 Woman No Fret
06 Have To Get You Tonight
07 Dickie
08 Love Me Brownin’
09 Buju Movin’
10 Who Say ( Ft. Beres Hammond )
11 The Grudge
12 How The World A Run
13 Buju Love You To The Max
14 Man Fe Dead
15 Bonafide Love (Movie Star)

The album is pure raw early 1990s dancehall (and a long way removed from Buju Banton’s later style and output).

Buy It

  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from Amazon.com
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from Amazon.co.uk
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from iTunes [US]icon
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from iTunes [UK]

Listen To It

Listen to probably the biggest hit from Buju’s Mr Mention Album – ‘Batty Rider’.