Reggae Rambo ‎– No Drugs Please [1990]

Reggae Rambo ‎– No Drugs Please [1990]

Reggae Rambo ‎– No Drugs Please [1990]

Reggae Rambo ‎– No Drugs Please [1990]

This is probably the most unexpected Wilfred Limonious cover ever.

Reggae Rambo was a Canadian reggae artist, and ‘No Drugs Please’ was released in 1990 on Rolata Records. Reggae Rambo only had this one release as far as we can tell.

Any long-time reggae fan is probably used to the unexpected and being surprised and thrilled about how diverse and unique the genre can be….but there is just too much going on here to process…..and it raises so many questions – who was this guy from Canada, where did he get that medallion, what’s his back-story and how did he end up calling himself Reggae Rambo whilst looking like a Canadian accountant on the cover…..and how did he get Wilfred Limonious involved to do his album cover?

There is so much to love here.

Probably the only Wilfred Limonious album sleeve where the artwork isn’t the main talking point.

A1 No Drugs Please
A2 Love At First Sight
B1 Reggae Rambo
B2 There Is Only One Hope


Listen to ‘Reggae Rambo’ below:

Joseph Stepper / He-Man ‎– Badness And Niceness [1992]

Joseph Stepper / He-Man ‎– Badness And Niceness [1992]

Joseph Stepper / He-Man ‎– Badness And Niceness [1992]

Joseph Stepper / He-Man ‎– Badness And Niceness [1992]

Reggae has a rich history of releasing ‘head to head’ albums. And dancehall has a rich history of having styles that are replaced and out of fashion as quickly as they arise. And you have King Dragon Records from France for bringing you this amazing image of early 90s dancehall fashion and posing.

I don’t know much about ‘He-Man’, but Joseph Stepper has some notable hits in the early 90s with his biggest hit arguably being ‘Wife‘ (which isn’t on this album anyway).

So if Joseph Stepper is the ‘Badness’ side, then why is He-Man wearing the pirate hat, eh, eh?

Photo for the sleeve was by Howard levy and the sleeve design was by Monika Nicinski.

A1 He-man – Niceness
A2 He-man – New Slang
A3 He-man – Mi And Mi Gun
A4 He-man – Pound Wine
A5 He-man – Take Heed
B1 Joseph Stepper – Badness
B2 Joseph Stepper – Test
B3 Joseph Stepper – Ghetto Youth
B4 Joseph Stepper – Glam
B5 Joseph Stepper – Stick It Inna Body

Capleton – Prophecy [1995]

Capleton - Prophecy [1995]

Capleton - Prophecy [1995]

Capleton - Prophecy [1995] back cover

Capleton had been around for years on the dancehall scene before his major label debut on Def Jam Records was released in 1995 – and surprisingly it wasn’t an overproduced affair (despite a couple of obligatory hip-hop mixes) and it retained an authentic dancehall sound.

In the early to mid-90s there was a huge ‘culture and consciousness’ surge in the dancehall and many rudeboys grew dreads and changed their output from ‘guns and slackness’ to ‘roots and culture’. Capleton was one such DJ who refocused their energy to more cultural and religious concerns.

The artwork is nice too – although it makes us think of Capleton as a lonely rasta lighthouse keeper. The album art design is credited to Rebellious Designs and the photo is by Klaus Schonweise.

The album itself has since been discontinued but it’s worth digging out or finding a secondhand copy to catch Capleton before he started shouting ‘fire’ in most of his releases. The CD cover art of this album was nowhere near as good as the vinyl release that we have featured here.

Track Listing:
1. Tour
2. Big Time
3. Obstacle
4. Leave Babylon
5. Heathen Reign
6. Don’t Dis the Trinity
7. No Competition
8. Wings of the Morning
9. See from Afar
10. Babylon Judgement
11. Glorious Morning
12. Chant
13. Wings of the Morning [Lil Jon & Paul’s Mix]
14. Heathen Reign [Lil Jon Y Paul’s Mix]
15. Tour [Lil Jon & Paul’s Mix]

Listen To It
Listen to Tour by Capleton:

Listen to Don’t Diss The Trinity by Capleton:

Buy It


Tun It Over 2 – Bogle Meets Armstrong (1992)

tun it over 2

tun it over 2

Released on Island/Mango Records in 1992 at the height of the ‘bogle’ craze, this is stripped down minimalist dancehall – which is saying something for a genre that can create songs out of next-to-no raw materials or funding.

This is really hard to find anywhere now, but I’d love to know the story behind this record and how some of the most uncommercial beats you’ll ever hear (even by dancehall’s standards) managed to get some major label exposure and support.

This album is quite a curiosity – dancehall was receiving zero major-label attention in the early 90s, and as mentioned earlier, this is not a commercial album. Any record exec should have been able to take one listen to this and realise instantly that it wasn’t going to make any real money or achieve any cross-over success. Not because it’s bad, but beacuse it is as raw as dancehall gets.

Not much info exists on the internet for this album, which i why I scanned my copy of the album artwork (if only to satisfy my OCD and autistic-type tendencies) – I wanted to at least have the most complete info page on the internet for this album.

Features some big hits from the time though; Terror Fabulous was probably the hottest DJ on the island when this came out.

The artwork is actually pretty nice too for a major-label dancehall release, and interestingly they’ve not tried to make a ‘commercial’ type album sleeve.

Track Listing:
1 Buju Banton – Bogle Dance
2 Terror Fabulous – Mr. Big Man
3 Top Cat – Bunn The Sensi
4 Poison Chang – Whe Yu Batty Deh
5 Terror Fabulous – No Retreat
6 Terry Ganzie – Who So Ever Will
7 Simpleton – Me Know You Now
8 Earl 16 – She Want My Love
9 Sugar Dee – Armstrong
10 General T.K. – Dem Wa War
11 Buju Banton – Big It Up
12 Daddy Screw – Turn On The Heat
13 Gospel Fish – A You Me Rate
14 General Pecus – Unnu Better Wait
15 Capleton – Stampede
16 Buju Banton – Bogle Dance (Re-Mix)
17 Barry Boom Feat. Nardo Ranks – Kissing You
18 Barry Boom – Kissing You
19 Wayne Wonder – Let’s Be Friend
20 Buju Banton – Certain Gal
21 General T.K. – Nu Trouble Me
22 Power Man – Own Big Woman

Executive Producer: Mikey Koos

Listen To It
Listen to ‘Stampede’ by Capleton:

Listen to ‘Turn On The Heat’ by Daddy Screw:

Cutty Ranks – The Stopper [1991]

cutty ranks - the stopper

cutty ranks - the stopper

Inspired by the Cutty Ranks Anthology that we posted about previously, we’ve decided to look at another Cutty Ranks album with some pretty unique album art for an early 1990s dancehall record.

The Stopper came out in 1991 on Fashion Records and on Profile Records (an early Hip-Hop label that got bought by a major label) which goes some way to explaining the stylized album art on display here. The album its a collection of 8 tracks that are all delivered in Cutty’s distinctive rock stone style.

As previously mentioned, early 90s dancehall records (especially the Jamaican releases) usually featured pretty garish artwork with excess, self-indulgence, and posing being the general artistic themes, just check Buju’s Mr. Mention as a good example. The Stopper by Cutty Ranks has none of that, it looks like the poster for a 1970s exploitation or grindhouse movie – brilliant stuff.

Track Listing:
1. Stopper
2. Cutter
3. Pon Pause
4. Mi Aim
5. Hand Grenade
6. Original Rude Boy Style
7. One Day Badness
8. Lovin’ Boom – Barry Boom, Cutty Ranks

Listen To It
Listen to ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks:

Listen to ‘Hand Grenade’ by Cutty Ranks:

Buy It

  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from iTunes [UK]
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from iTunes [US]