Cutty Ranks – Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

Cutty Ranks - Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

Cutty Ranks - Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

We were going to post about a different Cutty Ranks album today, but after searching online for a better image than the one we already had, we stumbled across this Cutty Ranks Anthology that we had no idea had been released and we got so excited that we had to mention this instead – plus it has a great album cover for a dancehall record.

Cutty Ranks is long overdue an anthology like this – I basically grew up on Cutty Ranks, and always looked forward to any release with his name on it.

I immediately loved his early raw talent in the 1980s and his work on the sound systems, and eventually he went on to become a huge force in 90s Dancehall. Cutty Ranks faded for a while in the later 90s before making a comeback and laying the newer and emerging DJs of the time to waste with “A Who Seh Me Dun”……before quickly slipping down the pecking order again.

We are still waiting for another sustained comeback, but until then, this Anthology will have to do.

Basically if you are a newcomer to reggae or dancehall you need this album. It has some of the biggest tunes and riddims on it from the 80s and 90s, and much of still sounds fresh today, and we’ll go as far to say that you’ll get more repeat-play value from this than many modern day Dancehall albums.

Plus the cover art is great and really suits Cutty’s style of stripped-down, unapologetic, rude-bwoy dancehall – No gimmicks, Cutty seldom needed more than his vest and some lyrics to flatten a dancehall…….what more do you want?

If you are reading this VP records, make some T-Shirts of that cover, I want one. PLEASE.

Track Listing:
Disc: 1
1. Intro: Live At Skateland (1986)
2. Limb By Limb
3. Stopper
4. Slaughter
5. Bomber
6. Press The Trigger
7. Pon Mi Nozzle
8. Dominate
9. Rude Boy Number
10. Fe Fi Fo Fum
11. Half Idiot – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
12. Real Love – Cutty Ranks & Beres Hammond
13. Decide Your Mind – Cutty Ranks & Dennis Brown
14. Lambada – Cutty Ranks & Wayne Wonder
15. Grizzle
16. Out A Hand

Disc: 2
1. A Who Seh Me Dun
2. Retreat Sound Boy
3. Grizzle (Part 2)
4. Leave People Man
5. Circle Me Country
6. Russia And America (Liberty)
7. Liberation
8. Money Money – Cutty Ranks & Bertie Don
9. Love Mi Haffi Get – Cutty Ranks & Beres Hammond
10. Really Together – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
11. Loving You – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
12. Move Up
13. Prepare Yourself (Judgement)
14. Warrior
15. Gunman Lyrics

Listen To It
Listen to Limb by Limb by Cutty Ranks:

Listen to “Lambada” by Cutty Ranks and Wayne Wonder. Love it – don’t get dancehall like this anymore

Listen to “A Who Seh Mi Dun” by Cutty Ranks. Couldn’t not feature this one.

Buy It
Nuff buying options for this:

Buju Banton – Mr Mention

Buju Banton - Mr Mention
Terrible album cover for Buju’s 1992 debut album. For someone who would ultimately get swamped in controversy over homophobic lyrics in his early years, it’s hard to imagine a more gay album cover than this. It makes the Village People look like red-blooded hetros.

Anyway, 1992 was a huge year for Buju and he dominated the Jamaican airwaves, it’s hard to think of a bigger hit that year than ‘Batty Rider’. In fact ‘Batty Rider’ can still start a fire in a dancehall today.

The album is full of some of the biggest dancehall hits of the time and should be in any serious collection.

Track Listing:
01 Batty Rider
02 Love How The Gal Dem Flex
03 Love Black Woman
04 Look How You Sweet
05 Woman No Fret
06 Have To Get You Tonight
07 Dickie
08 Love Me Brownin’
09 Buju Movin’
10 Who Say ( Ft. Beres Hammond )
11 The Grudge
12 How The World A Run
13 Buju Love You To The Max
14 Man Fe Dead
15 Bonafide Love (Movie Star)

The album is pure raw early 1990s dancehall (and a long way removed from Buju Banton’s later style and output).

Buy It

  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from iTunes [US]icon
  • Download ‘Mr Mention’ by Buju Banton from iTunes [UK]

Listen To It

Listen to probably the biggest hit from Buju’s Mr Mention Album – ‘Batty Rider’.

Dirtsman – Acid [1996]

Dirtsman - Acid
This record was one of the the first dancehall albums that I had and it was responsible for making me fall in love with dancehall music. Dirtsman was the brother of Papa San and was on the verge of mainstream success (he had just signed to BMG Records) when he was shot dead on his veranda by four gunmen.

Dancehall artists can often rush albums out in order to capitalise on their initial success and the end result can sometimes be a collection of recent radio hits and some filler material recorded on the latest rhythms, but Dirtsman’s Acid is a killer album that still sounds fresh and unique today.

The record cover looks a little dated these days (as do many early 1990s dancehall albums), but it’s simple and direct – just like Dirtsman’s style. The fact that Dirtsman’s massive hit “Hot This Year” can still get huge forwards in dances stands as a worthy testament.

It’s a shame that this album is so hard to find now as should be in any reggae fans collection.

Track Listing:
1. Nah Put It Down
2. Trailer Load Come
3. Roughest
4. Nah Sell It
5. Me A Nuh Bad Boy
6. Bubble And Wine
7. Sample
8. It A Worry Them
9. Check Seh Me Done
10. Acid
11. Rough This Year
12. Original DJ

Buy It

The whole ‘Acid’ album is not yet available as a download, but you can still get a few of the individual tracks, such as MP3s of ‘Hot This Year’. If you only own one Dirtsman track, then it probably should be this one anyway. See below for more detail:

Listen To It

Listen to Dirtsman – “Hot This Year”

Sizzla – Praise Ye Jah (Xterminator Presents)

Sizzla - Praise Ye Jah (Xterminator Presents)

Some truly awful photoshop work on this – this is what happens when you get your mate to do your album artwork as a favour.

Sizzla’s musical output is prolific even by Jamaican Dancehall standards, and many of his albums can be hit and miss, and the same can be said of his album artwork, with this being a shining example of how not to do it. Looks like it was created by some basic magnetic lasso work in photoshop and then a simple copy and paste job. Sizzla comes off looking like an extra from the old children’s TV show ‘Rentaghost’. That said, this a great album and definitely a case of not judging a book by its cover.

Track Listing:


  1. Praise Ye Jah
  2. Dem a Wonder
  3. Homeless
  4. Blackness
  5. Inna Dem Face
  6. Give Thanks
  7. Hail Selassie
  8. No Other Like Jah
  9. How Dem Flex
  10. Cowboy
  11. Greedy Joe
  12. Did You Ever
  13. Government

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Praise Ye Jah’ from Sizzla:

Buy It