Sly & Robbie – Dubrising [2014]

Sly & Robbie - Dubrising [2014]

Sly & Robbie - Dubrising [2014]

Sly & Robbie - Dubrising [2014]

Sly & Robbie return with a modern dub album called ‘Dub Rising’, released on french label Tabou1 Records.

This is a bit of a special release actually, as it represents the return of Paul “Groucho” Smykle, the elusive and legendary mixing engineer from Island Records who had his hand in many of the seminal 80s Dub albums from that era, including Black Uhuru’s ‘Dub Factor’.

Paul “Groucho” Smykle resumes mixing duties here after being away for years, applying a futuristic and digital style to Sly & Robbie’s rhythm tracks.

The album was released in limited editions on collector’s grade vinyl with some stunning gate-fold artwork by Laurent Gudin (with illustration by Noah Kuang Hong). This is futuristic sci-fi art with a dystopian flavor, which obviously suits the music contained within.

As well as the collector’s vinyl release, the album is also available via digital download.

All the tracks featured were hand picked by Paul “Groucho” Smykle to receive his sonic treatment and the tracklist can be seen below:

A1 Satan Fall 5:27
A2 Freedom Ring 4:07
A3 Drone Snipers 3:46
A4 Bully Tactics 4:20
B1 To The Rescue 4:39
B2 No Surrender 4:45
B3 Flame Thrower 4:48
B4 Dub-ble Agent



Get it at iTunes
Get it at Amazon

Fix Up Riddim – ZJ Liquid H20 Records [2015]

Fix Up Riddim - ZJ Liquid H20 Records [2015]

Fix Up Riddim - ZJ Liquid H20 Records [2015]

With a dying single and album market, modern dancehall often finds itself in the position where the riddim is the star. Gone are the days when a single personality is featured on an album, and many modern dancehall artists create their hype and careers without even releasing an album.

The riddim is the star, and with it comes an open market where various top DJs basically compete for market share on the riddim. Make the best track, get played more – simple.

And with digital distribution allowing for pretty much instant releases it has opened up a nice niche for newer designers to create eye-catching covers without depending on using an artist or personality as a selling point. Sure, the names of artists are listed, but this is all about the riddim.

This is probably my favorite riddim of 2015 so far. ZJ Liquid and H20 Records have been taking their time and releasing some real quality, heavy, dancehall riddims. The Fix Up Riddim is a follow up to 2014’s Good Book Riddim (another hard riddim) and features the usual suspects of artists on it: Konshens, Vybz Kartel, Versitile, Mavado, I Octane etc….

Kind of like this cover, had a real 80s feel to it, whilst still feeling modern.

Track Listing:

  • 1 So Mi Born – Agent Sasco
  • 2 Dem Ago Dead – Alkaline
  • 3 Dem Ago Dead (Radio) – Alkaline
  • 4 Me No See Them – Big Roundz
  • 5 Me No See Them (Radio) – Big Roundz
  • 6 Dutty Livity – Bryka
  • 7 Me Nah – Delly Ranx
  • 8 Dem 2 Hand Ya – Demarco
  • 9 Dem 2 Hand Ya (Radio) – Demarco
  • 10 Bad Man Laws – I Octane
  • 11 Beaa – Kalado
  • 12 Beaa (Radio) – Kalado
  • 13 Say the Word (feat. Javada) – Konshens
  • 14 Say the Word (feat. Javada) [Radio] – Konshens
  • 15 Bad Anytime – Mavado
  • 16 Bad Anytime (Radio) – Mavado
  • 17 Shub Dem Out – Quick Cook
  • 18 Shub Dem Out (Radio) – Quick Cook
  • 19 Me Never – Versatile
  • 20 Me Never (Radio) – Versatile
  • 21 ExplicitFix Up – Vybz Kartel
  • 22 Fix Up (Radio) – Vybz Kartel

Two of my favorite cuts on the riddim aren’t featured on the album, namely Aidonia’s ‘Gangster Mek Walk‘ and Popcaan’s ‘Slap One‘ (featuring thinly veiled swipes at Alkaline in the lyrics).

Listen To It

Listen to the Fix Up Riddim Mix

Listen to Aidonia ‘Gangster Mek Walk’ on the Fix Up Riddim:

Listen to Popcaan ‘Slap One’ on the Fix Up Riddim: