U Brown vs Peter Yellow – DJ Confrontation [1982]

U Brown vs Peter Yellow - DJ Confrontation (1982)

U Brown vs Peter Yellow - DJ Confrontation (1982)
U Brown vs Peter Yellow - DJ Confrontation (1982) (record)

I’m a huge fan of the Jamaican DJ ‘clash’ or ‘confrontation’ style albums that were big in the 1980s. Usually these releases saw a producer take two popular DJs and collected together 5 tracks from each on their latest or popular riddims, and gave them a side each (or alternating tracks on the same side) – It was a great way to showcase two artists.

These albums usually produced some eye-catching artwork. This album is no different and the dubious art-skill on display shows two heavyweights competing against each other in a race to grab a microphone from what looks a bit like ‘Nick Nack’ from the Bond film “The Man with the Golden Gun”.

Incidentally, the two obese figures that are drawn on the cover bear no real resemblance to the two DJs on the album…..Peter Yellow is an albino for a start.

Peter Yellow was a DJ from King Jammy’s Sound System and also recorded under then name Purpleman. Much of his output on vinyl came in the form of DJ albums where he shared the billing, and he enjoyed the bulk of his success between the early to mid-1980s. U Brown by contrast, made his name in the 1970s DJing over heavy roots riddims and based his vocal style on U Roy.

This album was released on CF Records in 1982 and production duties were shared between Ribbs (a.k.a. Robert Fearon) and Prince Jammy. Jammy produced all the Peter Yellow tracks and Ribbs was responsible for the U Brown tracks. As you would expect, the Jammy’s productions are classic 80s dancehall riddims with Peter Yellow dropping dancehall slang and lyrics, whilst the U Brown side comes across much more roots orientated with Old Testament subject material. This makes for an unusual listening experience for a DJ clash album.

Track List:

  • Peter Yellow – Life In A Gp
  • Peter Yellow – Dangerous Thing
  • Peter Yellow – Can’t Take The Boss Man
  • Peter Yellow – Take A Set
  • U Brown – World Wide Crisis
  • U Brown – Get Organised
  • U Brown – Reggae Rockers
  • U Brown – Chant It Down

Producer : Ribbs & Prince Jammy
Engineer : Ribbs & Prince Jammy
Vocals : Purpleman & U Brown
Backing Band : The Revolutionaries & The High Times Band & The Instigators & The Roots Radics

Listen To It
Listen to ‘Chant it Down’ by U Brown:

Listen to ‘Dangerous Thing’ by Peter Yellow:

Buy It

You wont find this album available for download via official channels, but you can still get U Brown (Amazon.com / Amazon.co.uk) and some Peter Yellow/Purpleman (Amazon.com / Amazon.co.uk) tracks available for download.

Hot Numbers – Volume 2

Hot Numbers - Volume 2

Argh! Close them please. Everything is wrong about this sleeve. WARNING: This album art is extremely dangerous to your eyes and you should only look at this record sleeve through a pin-prick hole in a piece of paper, otherwise you run the risk of either being blinded, or sucked in.

Shame really, as this compilation has some storming tunes on it. It was released in 1971 on Pama Records.

Track Listing:

  • Stickers – One Night Of Sin
  • 3rd & 4th Generation – Rudies Medley
  • The Gaylads – Royal Cord
  • Peter Tosh – Maga Dog
  • Owen Gray – Sincerely
  • Max Romeo – Rasta Band Wagon
  • Pat Kelly – Soulful Love
  • Winston Scotland – Buttercup
  • David Isaacs – You’ll Be Sorry
  • Rip’n’Lam – In The Ghetto
  • Max Romeo – The Coming Of Jah
  • The Impact All Stars – Dandy Shandy Version 4
  • Carl Dawkins – Walk A Little Prouder
  • Owen Gray – You Gonna Miss Me