Horace Andy – Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style [rear]

Despite being released in 1982, this album was actually recorded in the late 1970s, and it shows – the music is deep, heavy and has the unique Wackies sound and arrangement steeped through it.

Produced by Bullwackie and recorded in the Bronx, this album is notable for the release of ‘Spying Glass’, a song that Horace Andy would later re-record with Massive Attack.

This is a great album and has an ‘otherworldly’ feel to it that comes from the arrangements and the incredible extended dubs, as much as from Horace Andy’s etheral vocals. Horace Andy is also credited with contributing guitar and bass to this album.

The album art really suits this record and it’s a personal favourite of ours. The black and white grainy effect, with a near full length artist shot was used on many Wackie’s releases, and really gave the label a distinctive feel – whether it was intentional or not.

The rear of the record sleeve features some great studio shots too that really suits the whole set. And in true Jamaican fashion (despite being a US based label) there is a misspelling on the sleeve of the CD version: The final track is listed as “Lets Kive in Love”, when it should be “Lets Live In Love” – but we aren’t complaining as the album is so good.

Totally recommend that you seek this out if you haven’t got it already. Buy it, sit back, and immerse yourself in one of the most unique and heavy vocal/dubs sets to come out of the end of the 70s.

Track List:

  • Money Money
  • Lonely Woman
  • Cuss Cuss
  • Stop The Fuss
  • Spying Glass
  • Lets Live In Love

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Spying Glass’ by Horace Andy:

Listen to ‘Money Money’ by Horace Andy

Buy It

The Heptones – The Heptones (Studio One) – 1967

The Heptones - The Heptones (Studio One) - 1967

The Heptones - The Heptones (Studio One) - 1967

This is a special album and deserves a place in anyone’s collection.

The early Studio One album covers were usually joyous and uncynical affairs. Artists always looked thrilled to be recording an album and having their photo taken for the cover – Sunday best and church clothes were mandatory, as were big smiles. There was a cleanness about the design with the focus always on the artist; leafing though many of the original Studio One album covers are like browsing through someone’s old photograph album where photos were taken at special occasions and everyone was usually dressed up.

Anyway, enough of the dewy-eyed nostalgia.

This was the first album from The Heptones and it was released on Studio One records in 1967 and it was a huge rock-steady hit. The Heptones were one of the key groups who managed to transition successfully from the rock-steady era of the 60s into the roots reggae era of the 70s whilst still remaining an important and artistically creative force.

Produced by Coxsone Dodd it is packed full of classic hits. “Baby”, which is featured on this album, remains a personal favourite of ours and is a track that never fails to give us a lift no matter how many times we have played it.

It could also be argued that this album (as with many of the Studio One originals) also played a role in the emergence of DJ music and ultimately dancehall and rap. For example, would Dennis Alcapone’s ‘Baby Version’ have been as big a hit as it was if The Heptones track wasn’t such a solid tune to DJ over?

The Heptones (Studio One)
Track List:
1. Fattie Fattie
2. Why Must I
3. Only Sixteen
4. Mama
5. The Best Things In Life
6. Gee Wee
7. I’ve Got A Feeling
8. Tripe Girl
9. Baby
10. Let’s Fall In Love
11. Take A Tip From Me
12. Cry Baby Cry
13. Why Did You Leave [CD re-release]
14. Get In The Groove [CD re-release]

Listen To It
Listen to “Baby” by The Heptones:

Listen to “The Best Things In Life” by The Heptones:

Buy It

Marcia Griffiths – Steppin’ [1978]

Marcia Griffiths - Steppin' (album)

Marcia Griffiths - Steppin'

A double header – two album covers for the price of one.

The top picture is the original vinyl release that came out on High Note Records in 1978, and the second picture is taken from the cover of the re-release from Shanachie Records in 1991.

We definitely prefer the original 1978 album artwork which manages to still look pretty modern today. Love the font on ‘Steppin’ too. This is a wonderful warm cover that really suits this classic reggae vocal set. Stunning stuff.

The album was produced by Sonia Pottinger and Engineered by Errol Brown at the Treasure Isle Studios and the record remains a vocal roots classic. ‘Steppin Out Of Babylon’ is one of the tracks that I never tire of hearing, and sounds fresh every time.

Track List:

  • 1. Steppin’ Out In Babylon
  • 2. Where Were You
  • 3. Peaceful Woman
  • 4. Sweet Bitter Love
  • 5. Why There Is No Love
  • 6. The Way I Feel About You
  • 7. I’m Hurtin’ Inside
  • 8. It’s Impossible
  • 9. Give And You Get
  • 10. Where Is The Love

Listen To It
Listen to ‘Steppin’ Out Of Babylon’ by Marcia Griffiths:

Listen to ‘It’s Impossible’ by Marcia Griffiths:

Buy It

Barry Brown – Cool Pon Your Corner [1980]

Barry Brown - Cool Pon Your Corner

You just know he’d be the first one up and dancing at a party. After a few too many drinks his jerky dancing would probably knock over a vase and smash it and you’d have to send him home.

This is Barry Brown’s 1980 release on Trojan Records called “Cool Pon Your Corner” and despite the lighthearted album cover this is a heavy roots album from start to finish that features a blend of conscious tracks and love longs.

We are still looking for readers to attempt to create some of these covers and send them in to us, so we can post them on the relevant page. “Reggae Album Covers Recreated” would open up a whole new dark niche on the internet….

Track Listing:

  • Cool Pon Your Corner
  • Get Closer To You Baby
  • Please Officer
  • Moving On To The Promised Land
  • I Love You So
  • Your Love Is Real
  • Jah Jah Fire
  • Look Into Yourself
  • Promises
  • Youths Of The Ghetto

Listen To It
Listen to Cool Pon Your Corner:

Listen to Get Closer To You Baby:

Buy It

Sugar Minott – Buy Off The Bar [1984]

Sugar Minott - Buy Off The Bar

Sugar Minott was a big, big name when this 1984 album came out on Sonic Sounds and Power House Records.

Look at that stare – you know that you won’t be getting a beer from Mr Minott tonight. Maybe after he’d downed 10 of those 12 bottles he’s cradling, you’d have a better chance of grabbing one. The cover art is credited to Wilfred Limonious – Wilfred Limonious was a prolific illustrator of Jamaican albums in the 80s and 90s and was best known for his hand-drawn, cartoonish, and brightly coloured dancehall record sleeves.

We’ll be featuring loads more of his artwork as time goes on – click on the Wilfred Limonious category to see them all and watch the archive grow,

This is probably what passed for a ‘bling’ lifestyle in Jamaica in 1984, never mind Cristal champagne and Hennessy, Sugar would just march in and yell “Buy Off The Bar”. Anyone up for recreating this sleeve? Send photos in of you ‘buying off the bar’ and i’ll post them here, promise.

Playlist :

  • Buy Off The Bar – Bar Dub
  • Can’t Cross The Border – Border Dub
  • Frontline – Line Dub
  • Two Timer – Timer Dub
  • Strictly Sensi – Sensi Dub
  • Dread Upon Your Head – Dread Dub

This is a great Dancehall vocal album (and each track is accompanied by it dub mix) and is well worth adding to your collection.
Listen To It
Listen to ‘Buy Off The Bar’ by Sugar Minott:

Listen to ‘Frontline’ by Sugar Minott:

Buy It