Dean Frazer Pure Horn

Dean Frazer – Pure Horn [1979]

Dean Frazer Pure Horn
Dean Frazer - Pure Horn

Sounds (and looks) like a pheromone spray product – add a gruff voiceover and some sleazy jazz-funk in the background and you’ve got yourself a pheromone advert.

Released on Cha Cha Records in 1979, this is an instrumental album from Dean Frazer and The Horns Men. Dean Frazer was actually born ‘Dean Fraser’ but his surname appears spelt with a ‘z’ on many releases.

We have a soft spot for this album cover (not just because of the boobs) as it contains some real reggae legends and some heavy cuts – which makes the juxtaposition of the teenage innuendo of the album cover and the serious musicianship inside even more puzzling and fun.

Produced by Ossie Hibbert, his album is packed to the brim with musical talent, just check the names, it’s a who’s who of roots reggae:

  • Drums : Sly Dunbar
  • Bass : Robbie Shakespeare
  • Rhythm Guitar : Bo Peep
  • Lead Guitar : Chinna & Michael Chung
  • Organ : Ossie Hibbert & Ansel Collins & Winston Wright
  • Piano : Gladstone Anderson & Ossie Hibbert
  • Tenor Saxophone : Dean Fraser
  • Trombone : Vin Gordon
  • Trumpet : Headley Benett & Bobby Ellis
  • Percussions : Sticky & Barnabas & Scully Simms

Track List:

  • Story Book Children
  • Lovers Samba
  • If I Was A Carpenter
  • Black Mamba
  • Sweet Africa
  • Brandy
  • Love Jah
  • River To The Bank
  • Ethiopian Love Song
  • Get Ready

Buy It
Outside of record fairs, Pure Horn isn’t really available anymore, but you can still pick up other classic Dean Frazer music online: