Cutty Ranks – The Stopper [1991]

cutty ranks - the stopper

cutty ranks - the stopper

Inspired by the Cutty Ranks Anthology that we posted about previously, we’ve decided to look at another Cutty Ranks album with some pretty unique album art for an early 1990s dancehall record.

The Stopper came out in 1991 on Fashion Records and on Profile Records (an early Hip-Hop label that got bought by a major label) which goes some way to explaining the stylized album art on display here. The album its a collection of 8 tracks that are all delivered in Cutty’s distinctive rock stone style.

As previously mentioned, early 90s dancehall records (especially the Jamaican releases) usually featured pretty garish artwork with excess, self-indulgence, and posing being the general artistic themes, just check Buju’s Mr. Mention as a good example. The Stopper by Cutty Ranks has none of that, it looks like the poster for a 1970s exploitation or grindhouse movie – brilliant stuff.

Track Listing:
1. Stopper
2. Cutter
3. Pon Pause
4. Mi Aim
5. Hand Grenade
6. Original Rude Boy Style
7. One Day Badness
8. Lovin’ Boom – Barry Boom, Cutty Ranks

Listen To It
Listen to ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks:

Listen to ‘Hand Grenade’ by Cutty Ranks:

Buy It

  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from iTunes [UK]
  • Download ‘The Stopper’ by Cutty Ranks from iTunes [US]

Cutty Ranks – Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

Cutty Ranks - Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

Cutty Ranks - Limb By Limb (Reggae Anthology)

We were going to post about a different Cutty Ranks album today, but after searching online for a better image than the one we already had, we stumbled across this Cutty Ranks Anthology that we had no idea had been released and we got so excited that we had to mention this instead – plus it has a great album cover for a dancehall record.

Cutty Ranks is long overdue an anthology like this – I basically grew up on Cutty Ranks, and always looked forward to any release with his name on it.

I immediately loved his early raw talent in the 1980s and his work on the sound systems, and eventually he went on to become a huge force in 90s Dancehall. Cutty Ranks faded for a while in the later 90s before making a comeback and laying the newer and emerging DJs of the time to waste with “A Who Seh Me Dun”……before quickly slipping down the pecking order again.

We are still waiting for another sustained comeback, but until then, this Anthology will have to do.

Basically if you are a newcomer to reggae or dancehall you need this album. It has some of the biggest tunes and riddims on it from the 80s and 90s, and much of still sounds fresh today, and we’ll go as far to say that you’ll get more repeat-play value from this than many modern day Dancehall albums.

Plus the cover art is great and really suits Cutty’s style of stripped-down, unapologetic, rude-bwoy dancehall – No gimmicks, Cutty seldom needed more than his vest and some lyrics to flatten a dancehall…….what more do you want?

If you are reading this VP records, make some T-Shirts of that cover, I want one. PLEASE.

Track Listing:
Disc: 1
1. Intro: Live At Skateland (1986)
2. Limb By Limb
3. Stopper
4. Slaughter
5. Bomber
6. Press The Trigger
7. Pon Mi Nozzle
8. Dominate
9. Rude Boy Number
10. Fe Fi Fo Fum
11. Half Idiot – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
12. Real Love – Cutty Ranks & Beres Hammond
13. Decide Your Mind – Cutty Ranks & Dennis Brown
14. Lambada – Cutty Ranks & Wayne Wonder
15. Grizzle
16. Out A Hand

Disc: 2
1. A Who Seh Me Dun
2. Retreat Sound Boy
3. Grizzle (Part 2)
4. Leave People Man
5. Circle Me Country
6. Russia And America (Liberty)
7. Liberation
8. Money Money – Cutty Ranks & Bertie Don
9. Love Mi Haffi Get – Cutty Ranks & Beres Hammond
10. Really Together – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
11. Loving You – Cutty Ranks & Marcia Griffiths
12. Move Up
13. Prepare Yourself (Judgement)
14. Warrior
15. Gunman Lyrics

Listen To It
Listen to Limb by Limb by Cutty Ranks:

Listen to “Lambada” by Cutty Ranks and Wayne Wonder. Love it – don’t get dancehall like this anymore

Listen to “A Who Seh Mi Dun” by Cutty Ranks. Couldn’t not feature this one.

Buy It
Nuff buying options for this: