Dread Capone – Dennis Alcapone [1975]

Dread Capone

Dread Capone
Chunky knitwear and a well groomed afro, what every discerning gentleman wears in the tropical heat…..Dennis Alcapone looks over his shoulder and into the camera on the cover of his 1975 album called ‘Dread Capone’.

The gangster title of this album is a world away from the cover – Alcapone looks more likely to invite you to sit down and join him in a hot chocolate, and maybe a pipe.

Dennis Alcapone was one of the founding fathers of Jamaican DJ / toasting, and this album was released at a high point in his popularity. The album is full of his trademark toasting and rapping style, punctuated with his signature “Yeeeaaah” yelps, and “Hurghhh” cries.

It was originally released on ‘Live and Learn’ records and produced by Count Shelly, and was also re-released on ‘Shellys’ record label.

Track List:
Tour The World
Talking Version
Set Up Yourself Youthman
Gorgon Youth
Repatuation Now
Dub Rock
Train To Glory
Instrumental Dub
Natty Dread Alover
Heart Of Dub

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Set Up Yourself Youthman’ by Dennis Alcapone:

Listen to ‘Repatriation Now’ by Dennis Alcapone:

Buy It

Everyone should have some Dennis Alcapone on their iPod. For what it is worth, we recommend ‘Forever Version’.

  • Check out the Dennis Alcapone catalogue on Amazon.com
  • Check out the Dennis Alcapone catalogue on Amazon.co.uk

Dennis Alcapone – Forever Version [1971]

Dennis Alcapone - Forever Version

You don’t mess with Dennis Alcapone’s home security system. Gangsters may brag about ‘packing heat’, but Alcapone never goes anywhere without his mobile cannon.

Dennis “Alcapone” Smith was one of the few DJs in Jamaica capable of giving the great U Roy any competition. His smooth singing style of toasting is brilliantly captured on this album that also features the singing of such Studio One greats as the Wailers, the Heptones, Alton Ellis, Ken Boothe, and John Holt. The album was produced by Coxsone Dodd.

This is a great album cover – Alcapone looks like he’s been caught in the act of trying to light that cannon. Also….the pink hat! Nothing says “Don’t fuck with me and my cannon” than a pink trilby.

Track Listing:

  • Nanny Version
  • Run Run
  • Riddle I This
  • Baby Version
  • Sunday Version
  • Version I Can Feel
  • Forever Version
  • Baby Why Version
  • Dancing Version
  • Midnight Version
  • Sweet Talking Version
  • Version You To The Ball

Seriously, it’s a great album and any collection should have this as a keystone in it.

It’s got some incredible rhythms full of frantic bouncing basslines – check out Nanny Version (which is Alcapone’s DJ cut of Larry Marshall’s ‘Nanny Goat’), or ‘Baby Why Version’ (Alcapone’s take of the The Cable’s ‘Baby Why’).

Steve Barrow and Peter Dalton called this album “A defining moment in Jamaican deejay history, the tunes Dennis chose for his Studio One album are all bonafide dancehall classics” in their “Reggae: 100 Essential CDs – the Rough Guide”.

Listen To It
Listen to ‘Forever Version’ by Dennis Alcapone.

Listen to ‘Run Run’ by Dennis Alcapone:

Buy It

  • Download ‘Forever Version’ by Dennis Alcapone from Amazon.com
  • Download ‘Forever Version’ by Dennis Alcapone from Amazon.co.uk
  • Download ‘Forever Version’ by Dennis Alcapone from iTunes [UK]
  • Download ‘Forever Version’ by Dennis Alcapone from iTunes [US]

Dennis Alcapone – King Of The Track [1974]

Dennis Alcapone - King Of The Track

If I was going to collect an award (or whatever is happening there) from Bunny Lee I’d probably wear my shiny silver trousers too. In the early 1970s, Dennis Alcapone, alongside U-Roy and Big Youth, was one of the biggest DJs in Jamaica and totally ruled the dancehalls and charts.

Alcapone is looking way too cool on what is otherwise a pretty plain album cover. You can only wonder what this sleeve would have looked like if it was in colour, it would probably have come with a ‘sensory overload’ warning sticker placed over those trousers. There is enough data in this photo for a team of forensic tailors to study for years and still not come up with a solution to replicate those trousers in this day and age.

The album is pretty good too and collects together many of Dennis Alcapone’s hits from 1974. (Note: This album was also released again in 1995 under the name: “Musical Liquidator”)

Track Listing:
1. King Of The Track
2. Girl Of My Dream
3. Here I Come
4. Don’t Rush It
5. Memory Lane
6. Two Of A Kind
7. Lorna Banana
8. Jamaica Way
9. Freedom Skank
10. Musical Message
11. Musical Liquidator
12. Cassius Clay

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Here I come’ by Dennis Alcapone:

Listen to ‘Cassius Clay’ by Dennis Alcapone:

Buy It