Horace Andy – Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style

Horace Andy Dance Hall Style [rear]

Despite being released in 1982, this album was actually recorded in the late 1970s, and it shows – the music is deep, heavy and has the unique Wackies sound and arrangement steeped through it.

Produced by Bullwackie and recorded in the Bronx, this album is notable for the release of ‘Spying Glass’, a song that Horace Andy would later re-record with Massive Attack.

This is a great album and has an ‘otherworldly’ feel to it that comes from the arrangements and the incredible extended dubs, as much as from Horace Andy’s etheral vocals. Horace Andy is also credited with contributing guitar and bass to this album.

The album art really suits this record and it’s a personal favourite of ours. The black and white grainy effect, with a near full length artist shot was used on many Wackie’s releases, and really gave the label a distinctive feel – whether it was intentional or not.

The rear of the record sleeve features some great studio shots too that really suits the whole set. And in true Jamaican fashion (despite being a US based label) there is a misspelling on the sleeve of the CD version: The final track is listed as “Lets Kive in Love”, when it should be “Lets Live In Love” – but we aren’t complaining as the album is so good.

Totally recommend that you seek this out if you haven’t got it already. Buy it, sit back, and immerse yourself in one of the most unique and heavy vocal/dubs sets to come out of the end of the 70s.

Track List:

  • Money Money
  • Lonely Woman
  • Cuss Cuss
  • Stop The Fuss
  • Spying Glass
  • Lets Live In Love

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Spying Glass’ by Horace Andy:

Listen to ‘Money Money’ by Horace Andy

Buy It

Horace Andy – Skylarking [Studio One 1969]

This album is so great we are showing the front and back of the record sleeve.

Horace Andy - Skylarking (Studio One 1969)
Horace Andy - Skylarking (Studio One 1969) Back View

Horace Andy released his classic ‘Skylarking’ album on Studio One for Coxsone Dodd – the term ‘skylarking’ refers to people not taking things seriously, something that Horace Andy is not guilty of on this record.

I really like this cover, it has a similar look and feel to US gospel album covers from the 1960s – and you can’t argue with Horace’s outfit, those creases are razor sharp. I also like the setting chosen for the photography and the concrete ribcage structure in the background.

Anyway, on to the music – it’s basically a great collection of Andy’s earlier hits that were all aggregated onto one album for release at the time. It features many of the all-time classic tracks that made him famous, all sung in his unique fragile and haunting vocal style.

If you only get one Horace Andy album, then this should provide all you need.

Track Listing:

1 Where do the children play
2 Just say who
3 Love of a woman
4 Skylarking
5 Mammie blue
6 Please don’t go
7 Every tongue shall tell
8 Something on my mind
9 See a man’s face
10 Don’t cry
11 I’ll be gone
12 Got to be sure

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Skylarking’ by Horace Andy:

Listen to ‘Love of a Woman’ by Horace Andy:

Buy It

Sadly this album is pretty hard to find now and it hasn’t yet been digitized as a single release, however, the good news is that most of the tracks from it can be found on some killer Horace Andy compilation albums that are all readily available for download.