Jah Batta ‎– Argument [1983]

Jah Batta ‎– Argument [1983]

Jah Batta ‎– Argument [1983]

Jah Batta ‎– Argument [1983]

Another Wackies release – this is ‘Argument’ by Jah Batta that was released in 1983 on the legendary New York based reggae label.

Despite the stern looking cover art, this is actually quite a fun-filled and playful record. Jah Batta’s style is firmly early 80s toasting, not unlike the vocal patterns of Michigan & Smiley, Yellowman, Fathead etc….

This is a bold looking album cover with a great colour scheme – simple and effective. Artwork and design was created by Yahsushi Kimura.

The rhythms all come from the Youthman Promotions stable of players, various Jamaican musical legends like Jackie Mitoo, as well as members of the US Wackies label. The rhythms were then mixed and edited in the Wackies studio in New York. Sugar Minott takes a co-production credit on the album.

The rear of the album also has various photos of Jah Batta with the Wackies crew, including a photo of Sugar Minott, who, as well as being a regular collaborator with the Wackies label, is also used as subject material track where Jah Batta DJs a story that includes a mention of his girlfriend running off with Sugar Minott.

Great rhythms, great production, and an infectious style means that this is an album that you don’t want to pass you by, especially if you are an old-school dancehall fan.

1 No Meat
2 Ten To Seven
3 Argument
4 I Don’t Want To Wait
5 Mi Black
6 Youthman School
7 Hold On Pon The Woman
8 Informa (Watch It)
9 Youthman Time
10 Out A Reach


Listen to ‘Argument’ by Jah Batta:

Listen to ‘Youthman Time’ by Jah Batta:


Get it at iTunes
Get it at Amazon