Sizzla – Ghetto Youthology [2009]

Sizzla - Ghetto Youth-Ology

Sizza is a notoriously prolific dancehall artist, even by Jamaican standards, and he seems to come out with a couple of albums a year at the very least. Unsurprisingly his output can often be hit and miss (sometimes even terrible) – as can his album artwork, so it’s great to see a return to form for Sizzla like this.

It’s also great to see a modern dancehall album not obsessed with a moody, vanity shot of the artist. This cartoon of Sizzla entertaining and educating the Ghetto Youths is a tribute to some of the fantastic cartoon album covers from Tony McDermott, that were commonplace in the early 1980s (such as the series of dub albums by ‘Scientist’).

This album is full of roots and conscious reggae all performed in Sizzla’s classic sing-jay and chanting style (this is not the rushed, gruff ‘dancehall-by-numbers’ like some of his previous efforts have been)


  • Jah Love
  • Ghetto Utes Dem Ah Suffer
  • Stop It Right Now
  • Gwaan Bear
  • Hey Youths (Respect)
  • Black Man In The White House
  • Future Is Yours
  • Premeditate
  • I`m Loving You
  • Open Up The Doors
  • What Am I To Do Baby
  • I Love You So
  • Tax Payers Money
  • Qualities In Life
  • Babylon Ease Off

Buy It

The album is worth picking up to hear Sizzla’s return to form. It’s available at pretty cheap prices online.

Sizzla – Ghetto Youth-Ology on CD

Sizzla – Ghetto Youth-Ology on MP3

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Stop it Right Now” by Sizzla

Listen to ‘Premeditate’ by Sizzla:

Sizzla – Praise Ye Jah (Xterminator Presents)

Sizzla - Praise Ye Jah (Xterminator Presents)

Some truly awful photoshop work on this – this is what happens when you get your mate to do your album artwork as a favour.

Sizzla’s musical output is prolific even by Jamaican Dancehall standards, and many of his albums can be hit and miss, and the same can be said of his album artwork, with this being a shining example of how not to do it. Looks like it was created by some basic magnetic lasso work in photoshop and then a simple copy and paste job. Sizzla comes off looking like an extra from the old children’s TV show ‘Rentaghost’. That said, this a great album and definitely a case of not judging a book by its cover.

Track Listing:


  1. Praise Ye Jah
  2. Dem a Wonder
  3. Homeless
  4. Blackness
  5. Inna Dem Face
  6. Give Thanks
  7. Hail Selassie
  8. No Other Like Jah
  9. How Dem Flex
  10. Cowboy
  11. Greedy Joe
  12. Did You Ever
  13. Government

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Praise Ye Jah’ from Sizzla:

Buy It