Winston Jarrett & The Righteous Flames - Man of the Ghetto [1977]

Winston Jarrett & The Righteous Flames – Man of the Ghetto [1977]

Winston Jarrett & The Righteous Flames - Man of the Ghetto [1977]
Winston Jarrett & The Righteous Flames - Man of the Ghetto [1977] (back cover)

Stunning album cover – this brutally honest photo of Winston Jarrett & The Flames in the heart of the ghetto is a world away from today’s portrayal of wealth and aspirational lifestyles more associated with modern Dancehall artists.

There is a raw vulnerability on display here, mixed with defiance, that is often absent from today’s reggae artwork and marketing materials.

This album was released in 1977 on the Sonic Sounds record label in Jamaica.

Winston Jarrett was originally part of ‘Alton Ellis and the Flames’ vocal group, before he broke away to form his own ‘Righteous Flames’ group with himself as the figurehead.

Track List

  • Man Of The Ghetto
  • Jungle Collie
  • Sheriff And His Deputy
  • Fear Not Almighty Dread
  • Sleepers
  • Chucky Hark And Shark
  • Kaya
  • My Sheep
  • Cry To Me
  • Born To Be Loved

This is a fantastic roots album, full of urgent horns, rolling bass lines, marching drums, and stunning vocals.

It could be argued that Winston Jarrett is one of the criminally overlooked reggae singers of the 1970s – he came to prominence in Jamaica at the same time as Peter Tosh, Joe Higgs, Ras Michael and many more reggae legends, yet his music today rarely gets mentioned in the same breath as them – which is a real shame as new generations of reggae fans are in danger of missing out on a passionate singer with a deep mournful style, and an amazing catalogue of material.

Musically this album features just about every big-name Jamaican musician of the time:

Engineer : Ernest Hoo Kim & Maxie
Producer : Winston Jarrett & Tony Shabazz

Vocals : Winston Jarrett
Drums : Sly Dunbar
Bass : Robbie Shakespeare
Lead Guitar : Ranchie
Guitar : Dougie Bryan
Piano : Ansel Collins & Touter Harvey & Gladstone Anderson
Organ : Ansel Collins & Touter Harvey
Trombone : Don D. Junior
Trumpet : Bobby Ellis
Tenor Saxophone : Tommy McCook & Dirty Harry
Alto Saxophone : Herman Marquis
Percussions : Sticky
Bongo : Scully Simms

Listen To It

Listen to ‘Man of the Ghetto’ by Winston Jarrett and the Righteous Flames:

Buy It

Winston Jarrett & The Righteous Flames ‘Man of the Ghetto’ album is now available for download.